'File in use.' dialog randomly displayed when saving downloaded file to location containing file with same name

Not reproducible Issue #10740011

Details

Author
Doogus M.
Created
Jan 31, 2017
Privacy
This issue is public.
Found in
  • Microsoft Edge
Found in build #
10
Reports
Reported by 1 person

Sign in to watch or report this issue.

Steps to reproduce

Edge randomly displays the dialog box ‘This file is in use. Enter a new name or close the file that’s open in another program.’ when attempting to save a downloaded file to a location where there is a file that has the same name. If you select OK then select Save again it usually will then give the standard file overwrite prompt, but occasionally will repeat the file in use dialog. I know for a fact that the file being overwritten is definitely not in use and not even installed on the PC. I have just installed KB3216755 on my 1607 and this has still not fixed the issue

Attachments

Comments and activity

  • Microsoft Edge Team

    Changed Assigned To to “Brad E.”

  • Haven’t heard anything about this yet. Have just applied March 2017 updates and this issue is still not resolved. Have even done a fresh load of 1607 with all Windows Updates applied to date and no other software installed, but still is happening! Is this ever going to be fixed?

  • Microsoft Edge Team

    Changed Assigned To from “Brad E.” to “James M.”

    Changed Status to “Not reproducible”

  • Hello,

    Thank you for providing this information about the issue. We are unable to reproduce the problem in Edge 14393. Please reopen this case if you have any new information to provide, such as run dxdiag (Windows key + r and type dxdiag, enter, then click Save all Information and paste the results).

    Best Wishes,
    The MS Edge Team

You need to sign in to your Microsoft account to add a comment.

Sign in